Spanish Clay Society (SEA)

The Spanish Clay Society was founded in May 1959 as the Spanish Clay Minerals Group. At the 1969 meeting it was decided to create the official Spanish Clay Society (Sociedad Española de Arcillas – SEA), and Prof. J.L. Martín-Vivaldi was elected as first president.

The aim of the new society was to bring together Spanish clay scientists in organizations around the world by encouraging contacts with other national groups and organizing international scientific meetings. Some significant steps taken towards this aim have been:

 1970: First Spanish-Belgian Clay Meeting, in Madrid, as a basis for the establishment of the European Clay Meetings (Euroclay Conferences)

 1971: A Second Belgian-Spanish Clay Meeting, Louvain (Belgium)

 1972: IV International Clay Conference, Madrid. The Conference was held in Madrid (June 23-30), with Prof. J.L. Martín-Vivaldi as Secretary and Prof. F.V. Chukhrov (USSR) President of AIPEA.

 1987: 6th Meeting of the European Clay Groups – Euroclay’87 in Seville (September 7-10). Chairman of this Conference was Prof. E. Galán.

 1988: Creation of the Martín-Vivaldi Award, in honor of Prof J.L. Martín Vivaldi, as an award for young Spanish clay scientists.

 1990: The Martín-Vivaldi Award became a European Award, sponsored by the European Clay Group Association (ECGA) and financially supported by SEA.

Throughout its history of over 50 years, SEA has taken part in the organization of national and international meetings and its members have contributed to other international scientific gatherings. In view of this record, the SEA Council has approved the submission of a proposal to the AIPEA Council for the 16th International Clay Conference to be held in Spain.

Local, regional, national organizations involved

 Earth Sciences Institute of Andalusia (Instituto Andaluz de Ciencias de la Tierra – IACT)

 Spanish Clay Society (Sociedad Española de Arcillas – SEA)

 University of Granada

 Higher Council for Scientific Research (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas – CSIC)